10 Comments
author

Frittata roulette! A game for the whole family to enjoy!

Expand full comment
author

My favorite leftover 'hack' is to use the omnipresent extra stuffing and cranberry sauce along with ground turkey to make a meatloaf every Black Friday weekend.

Most of my worst kitchen nightmares have to do with too much water. A pumpkin puree quiche...disaster. An attempt to swap sauteed veggies for noodles in a baked mac n' cheese. I sauteed them for so long, but those sneaky things still had so much water in them! Cheesy water soup...not so much.

Expand full comment
Aug 2, 2023Liked by Mia Billetdeaux

I always try to use up ALL of the perishable groceries. The easiest way to do this is just to throw everything in the blender and blend. It's made for some choke-it-down concoctions (I call these Punishment Smoothies) but for the most part you can get a delightful drink and you don't waste a thing.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds kind of terrifying. Is there one consistent ingredient you add to help smooth over the rest of the flavors?

Expand full comment

Banana and peanut butter always help. :)

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2023Liked by Mia Billetdeaux

At the end of the week I tend to have bits of every leftover dinner in my fridge. I started turning them into Saturday morning frittatas along with whatever veggies and cheese I didn’t get around to using. One third end up amazing, one third are alright, one third I end up trashing not sure which ingredient went bad.

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2023Liked by Mia Billetdeaux

I've taken to turning leftover panzanella into an egg bake thing as it's the only way I've found to save soggy bread. My ill advised leftover creation was movie theater popcorn -> Christina Tosi's popcorn milk -> what was supposed to be overnight oats; due to some bad planning things sat around for a couple days and the butter from the popcorn solidified. Definitely not the most appetizing thing I've made!

Expand full comment
author

I feel like lots of Tosi component recipes live right on the edge of absolutely amazing and pretty much disgusting a la the Food is Stupid newsletter. This makes me want to try fruity cereal milk overnight oats!

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2023Liked by Mia Billetdeaux

I’ve started keeping rotisserie chicken carcasses to make broth out of. They are so tiny it takes a couple to get a good batch of stock going so looking in my freezer could be surprising.

Expand full comment
author

Ha! Love this. Speaking of carcasses, we bought an extra Turkey at the post thanksgiving sale, left it in our freezer until I was 36 weeks pregnant. Dad thought he’d cook it for post birth meals on the exact day I went into labor 3 weeks early. So then it was brining for a week in our fridge by the time we got home 🥴

Expand full comment