12 Comments
author
Sep 28, 2023·edited Sep 28, 2023Author

For me, I absolutely love the orange & carrot soup from The Silver Palate Cookbook - recipe from the archives - https://borschtforbreakfast.substack.com/p/27-on-the-body

Two years ago I made Falastin's turnip mash with greens, caramelized onion and feta recipe for Thanksgiving which I still think about: https://bookshop.org/a/56874/9780399581731

On my to cook list this holiday season is the turnip-date gratin from Amy Thielen's Company: The Radically Casual Art of Cooking for Others: https://bookshop.org/a/56874/9781324001508

Anyone doing anything interesting with tumeric or radishes? Those are on my list.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Mia Billetdeaux

My late mother in law grew up in Michigan during the depression. She would make a big pot of "Boiled Dinner". You need a big pot of water, Sunday dinner's leftover ham bone, cubed rutabaga, parsnip, potatoes, carrots and onion. Salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil then simmer for 30-45 min until vegetables are tender. Serve with warm homemade bread and butter.

Expand full comment
Oct 10, 2023Liked by Mia Billetdeaux

As a general dummy of a cook, my strategy is any combination of these on a sheet pan in the oven at 425 until you like the look of 'em.... olive oil + salt + whatever you're in the mood for seasoning-wise, to taste. My only hot tips are that everything is better 1) a little charred, and 2) drizzled with balsamic vinegar

Expand full comment

I love love love that some of my cookbook (52 Shabbats: Friday Night Dinners Inspired by a Global Jewish Kitchen) have turned my beet and tahini salad dressing into a vibrant pink dip!!! I now make it all the time like that. I am now obsessed with winter squashes and pumpkins in both sweet and savory preps

Expand full comment

You have survived 3 weeks of beets! 😂 I love to do a “high heat on a sheet pan” with beets, turnips, little potatoes, olive oil, salt and toward the end some chopped fresh rosemary, I’ll dig out the recipe and add!

Expand full comment